top of page
  • Maynie Lee

week 5: storyboards + Improved product design and ident

Updated: Feb 15, 2022



Heyy fwens! Thank you for checking in again! Just to give you a little introduction of today's blog, this week has been the looongesttt! My idea change soooo much and I'm updating with my last brain cell please understandd :(


Okok before I go through another mental breakdown today, let me show you my storyboard first!


Storyboard

Okay sooo! This is my first version of storyboard, I plan to do two transformation of the room to show how the product works which is to change the environment through the mood of the song. My animation will be focus on this aspiring painter who is unmotivated to paint, thats when she start playing music through the vinyl player and everything around her starts transforming!


Locations:

- A pond

- A treehouse


Things that will be transforming into:

- Bed turns into a lily pad

- Book shelf turns into rock material

- Books turns into corals

- Chair turns into a boat

- Paint brush turns into paddle



For the transformation effect I will be referencing to this scene of Encanto!


After showing Fanny my storyboard, she thinks that my story is too long and suggest me to just choose one location will do. At first I wanted to choose the treehouse one as there will be more animation like dancing across the room and plants growing out when the character walk past, but thinking back I have already did forest designs for my past few animation projects hence I decide to do the pond!


So I did my second ver of storyboard! There will not be a second song so the story can escalate faster.


List of my product design variation




Most of my lecturers don't like the quirky designs as Alan says it doesn't look like something that plays music, but at the same time the normal design looks a little boring too! My current plan is to reference more on the vintage gramophone and try making it look more colourful and appealing!


Ident update


For those who missed my previous post, I was having trouble with the font choices and colour variations. I started the week by asking my lecturer, Kania, on her advice and she point out that most of the calligraphy fonts are a little hard to read from far and the Wood Xmas one does look a little too serious. As for the colour variations she suggested on doing a animatic/colour script to make sure the ident doesn't clash with the background designs.


(Not finalised yettt!!)


This is just an ideaaaa of how my ident will turn out! I did this before Alan's class and before I even show him this, he suggest me to do a stem effect for the logo! Which is weird as that was the vibe I was going for when I was brainstorming for the colour script, I guess he also feel the nature vibe of my brand eheheheh!! skrskr!


Okioki sooo, the first one is how imagine a stem to look like ah but David say I should not be doing gradient for the ident. Sooo, I did two more with shell shadings! I will be adding more leaves and flowers for a pop of colours! I will also be adding it on the sides (like the one on the bottom) so that the silhouette is clear when the ident is full black. Kewlll!


OMG YAAA I also need help for my taglineee!!! Fwens please save meee!


That's all I have for week 5 update! I hope you guys understand what I'm talking about as I only update my blog at the weirdest timing, time check now its 1:14am and I'm here cos I can't do my animatic :) but buttt thank you for taking your time to read ittt really appreciate your love for me!!! Goodnighttt!!

4 comments

4 Comments


Guest
Feb 22, 2022

I rly look forward to your final animation eh! From your storyboard I can tell the environment is going to look so aesthetic and pretty,, and i lov how the flowers and plants jump out from your LA BA HUA speaker, it really matches the artistic and nature vibes of your tvc! - janey

Like

Guest
Feb 18, 2022

Hello Maynie! Looks like I'm not the only one who's ideas keep getting changed :( ... but for the sake of meeting a 30 secs mark for the TVC, I guess one song should be enough (but I'd love to see a longer version of it at some point) hahaha... As a start I think the vinyl player as a keychain (without cover) works fine, and since everything will start turning into different things from the vinyl itself ( I assume )...then the vinyl player can turn into one of your quirky designs (I specially like the tree stump with a leaf). IDENT looks much better and I can't wait to see the stem effect in it :) ... Finally,…

Like

Guest
Feb 15, 2022

Love the ident design! The design for the storyboards great too! For you tagline how about ""All in tune"? as since your area changes with the help of the music, I thought it would be a great fit for it.

looking forward to your animation. - matthew

Like

Guest
Feb 15, 2022

hi Maynie! though I think the new product design are lovely (esp ones On the second page) i really liked the vinyl player keychain design and it looks like something I would get in real life- totally not boring at all! ALSO i thought your brand identity looked amazing last week but this one is even better! As for the tagline, I think something along the lines of ‘new places with every note‘ OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT would be cute Skdjdk I’m not very good at coming up with tag lines. All The best with coming up with one HAHAH - Chloe

Like
bottom of page