top of page
  • Maynie Lee

week 4: font variation + summary of what i have now

Updated: Mar 22, 2022


story breakdown

How is the product?: A vinyl player that changes your environment through the mood of the music!

Limitations: Room change back to normal when music ends

Settings: A magical dimension

Target audience: Creators/Artist


All the furnitures in your room will be transform according too! Currently I want to focus on the roller chair that my character will be seating on, when the environment change to a pond, the chair will be tranform into a boat! And since the bed is soft, I imagine the bed to turn into a big lily pad!




room design refences

Characters and set planning


Font planning

When I was finding reference for font ideas, I loom up for different brands that sells musical instruments. I realise most of the font they use are more either towards the simple side or the cursive side. Since my brand is selling musical products that brings magic, I want it to look less serious.



Then I went to look up for Disney movies logos, I realise most of the font they use are very simple too and its the colours that they use! For example, the logo for Encanto! Encanto's logo is easily readable but the colours they use brings out the magical effect of the movie!


font variations

For the logos, I played around with both cursive or a more vintage font styles! The cursive ones gives a more elegant vibe which goes well with the branding, however, I like the vintage styles too and my brand can be vintage instruments that brings magic to everyone!



For cursive, I actually like Sandrina as it looks like a signature! Giving a 'From yours truly' vibe you know you know ahahah!

And for the vintage font, I like either Antique Cherry or Ruritania! Antique Cherry is like a groovy retro vibe and Ruritania looks like a really classy medieval brand!


Colour variations

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

For the colours, I really want to bring out the magical side of it so I played with rainbow colour as Alan say it should be colourful. However, it looks a little too overwhelming even though I really like the colours. So I tried playing with two-toned colours, hmmm not really feeling it ehh!


SOOOOO....


THIS IS THE END OF TODAY'S BLOG! THANK YOU FOR READING MY BLOG! DONT FORGET TO LEAVE A COMMENT IN THE BOX DOWN BELOWW! Tell me which colour variations do you likeeee!!

4 comments

4 Comments


Guest
Feb 09, 2022

I read all the previous posts to catch up...hahaha, From cracking your head to now it's impressive and I really loved the concept idea. If simple music can help us focus and come out with something, imagine now that the music you love can also change your whole environment... That's awesome! Good idea and good reference. Can't wait to see the final animation. Now in regards to the fonts... variation No. 1 & 2 definitely fit the concept as colour means everything in this case... also the styles look pretty much to the 70's where vinyl was quite common among young people.

Ps: I love your blog design, my jaw literally dropped the first time I saw it. Claps Claps…


Like
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
Feb 15, 2022
Replying to

Thankieww Ezekiel! Your comment gave me a better visualisation of my ideas as i find it hard to express what im thinking into words! I really want to go with the colourful one for my font but David thinks its too much and i should keep it under 3 colours so im working on that now. Awww thank youuu i thought it would be easier to read too since everything is organized well ehehehe!!

Like

Chloe Lok
Chloe Lok
Feb 08, 2022

WAA Maynie I love the font you chose! I agree that the rainbow font is overwhelming but I really liked the contrast on the shadows and rainbow of 2! I thought 3 and 8 were really pretty as well, both are Striking yet gentle on the eyes! - Chloe

Like
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
Feb 15, 2022
Replying to

SanQ Chloeee!! Haisss Alan and David change my idea lahh i wanna cryyyy!


Like
bottom of page