top of page
  • Maynie Lee

Week 1: brain juice squeezer

Updated: Jan 19, 2022



MY ART STYLE


Since this is my final year project and will probably be my last animated short I will be doing, I want to play with the art style that I love and have been wanting to try for a really long time! I love the art style from the animation, 'Bee and Puppycat'! With that, I planned to create a work that has a more magical, mystical storyline to fit the colour schemes of the animation.







Environmental design ( Bee and puppycat x osama ranking)


As I am not strong in my animation and I know I wouldn't be taking animation as a career, I want to focus more on the background design! Other than referencing from 'Bee and Puppycat', I recently started watching a anime series called 'Osama Ranking'! When I was watching it, I noticed the really detailed background and the colour palette used just fits the emotions of that scene. After following them on Instagram, I realise their backgrounds are all done traditionally! My style is more towards the detailed side and that gives me the motivation to do what I am strong at!









(^Bee and Puppycat)





(^Osama Ranking/Rank of Kings)


Idea pitching









13 comments

13 Comments


Guest
Feb 03, 2022

Huge fan of the art style and ideas! the Polly pocket home is such a convenient tool (if only we had those in real life) T.T. Im looking forward to your project! - Matthew

Like

Guest
Jan 25, 2022

I like the backpack idea. Reminds me of the undetectable extension charm from Harry Potter and the bottomless bag from Inside Out. So convenient in so many ways.

I also like the pocket home idea. Once in a while, we all need personal space.

- Sarah Wong

Like
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
Jan 26, 2022
Replying to

Omg thats what Fanny says too! I didnt know about it because I dont watch Harry Potter ahahaha!

Like

Guest
Jan 25, 2022

WAA I love your whole website aesthetic!! I love the polly Pocket idea! it’ll be interesting to see all the background designs you come up with for this concept! I also can’t wait to see how people will be transported into this world. Will the whole Polly pocket become human sized or the other way round? Anyways, I love the hideout one! It reminds me of the treehouse villas in Bali ^^ -Chloe

Like
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
Jan 26, 2022
Replying to

Herrroo Chloeee! Thankiew ahaha! Hmm at first I wanted to do a digital polly pocket ah where users can customise their own space but Alan finds it too universal hngg! I changed my idea le you can check them out in my week 2 brainstorm ehehe!

Like

Guest
Jan 25, 2022

syafy: i love all your ideas! they all seem to fit what you want to focus on and give you so much space for background design. i know how detailed you can get and it's clearly your strength! i still think the polly pocket home is my favourite and eee i really cant wait to see what you come up with

Like
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
Jan 26, 2022
Replying to

Thank uuu syafyyy! Yup im choosing the Polly Pocket idea but I change the concept of it alr! Do check out my week 2 brainstorm wen you're freeee!

Like

yuva guava
yuva guava
Jan 25, 2022

Damn dude all these ideas are so cute and whimsical. I love the polly pocket home so much. I'd love to have a safe space to retreat to if i'm outside a lil oasis of my own . I feel like one setting a time limit and setting it up to be easy to customise will maximise the reach of the product. I can't wait to see what you'll choose, good luck!!!

Like
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
Jan 26, 2022
Replying to

Heyyy babee! Hngg Alan doesn't like it due to the fact that its toooo universal! I changed the concept a little and ive already update it on my blog ehehe do check them out! Oh and also do state your name here too so that Kania can see you commented :)

Like
bottom of page