top of page
  • Maynie Lee

Week 2: Design Variations + Product & Logo name

Updated: Feb 2, 2022



By the end of week 1, I was planning to do the Polly pocket home idea whereby users can customize their own home/environment and get transformed into the game. However after talking to Alan, he find it too universal and that there's no specific target audience. He improved my idea by changing it to gadget that allows you to change environment, but only limited to your current space!


Finalised idea

Finalised Idea - A gadget that allows you to change environment

Setting - An era where technology is very advanced

Target audience - Kids aged 6+, especially elementary school children who don't yet own a cell phone.


Design Variations 1: Eggie


Limitation: Environment changes back when the clock hits 00:00

Design: I wanted to do something simple and unexpected! Inspired by Airpods, creating something versatile allows users to customise on their own based on their personality.


^ Bottom are case designs!


Design Variation 2: Vinyl record


Limitation: Environment changes through the mood of music, turns back to normal when music ends.

Design: Small and simple vinyl player, some weird designs are available too!



Brand name variations

When I was brainstorming for brand names, I want it to be something that grants wishes! After talking to Alan, he wants me to have names related to music too so these are what I have now:


1) Ophelia : A lucky fairy that grant wishes

2) Meteor : Shooting star

3) Mikrokosmos : Something that has the same qualities as something much bigger

4) Illusion

5) Wondery

6) Euphonious : Pleasing to the ear

7) Ukiyo : Living in the moment


I'm leaning towards either Euphonious or Ukiyo!


Product name variations

1) Drooms : Dream in Dutch, = Dream room

2) Petite Dreams : Small in French = Petite, Granting every small dreams

3) Venthral : Virtual + Enthral = Mesmerized completely with the virtual effects

4) Enchanting : To subject to magical influence

5) Serenity : Calm, peaceful and untroubled

6) Melomania/Mélomanie : Deep attraction to music and melody




13 comments

13 則留言


訪客
2022年2月03日

OMG MAYNIE THE PRODUCT VARIATIONS ARE SO CUTEE! I really like the pond and egg one, it looks so fashionable and i can imagine people buying different designs to match with their outfits. I like the names Mikrokosmos, Euphonious and Ukiyo. Mikrokosmos is a long name so i think people would give it a nickname when referencing it like "mikro or kroko" and the concept of a product having nicknames feels really cute to me. Euphonious has a nice look to it ( word wise) especially with a cursive font. And for Ukiyo, it sounds so cute and the meaning behind it is also so deep. For product names, I really like how Venthral goes with Mikrokosmos and Ukiyo. Serenity…

按讚
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
2022年2月03日
回覆

HEYYY YOU AGAIN AHAHAHAH! Alan david and karen dont like the quirky designs thoooooo!! Okay lah easier to animate too ahahahah! oh yeaaa kroko sounds cute ehh but the thing is mikrokosmos is a BTS song ah they created the word, I scared copyrights ah so I just go with Euphonious!

按讚

訪客
2022年1月31日

Heya Tal here

Im all for the eggie design bc it's more portable and compact! I do like the vinyl idea but i think the round designs fits better in one's hands. Maybe I'm just really biased to tiny tamagotchi liked devices hahahhah

For product names I really like Petite Dreams. It just sounds really nice imo, I feel like it pairs pretty well with Meteor/Ophelia!

按讚
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
2022年2月01日
回覆

Hey Tal! Oh for the vinyl player it will be small too! Maybe the size of a keychain cos I want it to be compact too! Yup I like Petit Dreams too but for the brand name maybe I will go for Euphonious (wasn’t there yst cos I forgot to publish my updated post 😅)

按讚

訪客
2022年1月31日

Wah this one meteor garden eh damn nice

I like Petite Dreams cuz it sounds like more like a toy like My littlest pet shop

Drooms also damn smart la but it sound like vaccuum cleaner name LOL -Jane

按讚
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
2022年2月01日
回覆

yeaaa siaaa then can project Dao MingSi out and sing 流星雨 ahahahah! i got some updated brand names le so I think I will go with Euphonious kekekee

按讚

訪客
2022年1月31日

i love the vinyl idea and i think going more olden days would be a great idea and i can totally imagine an old dude sitting in his chair watching the world come to life. i like the name ophelia and petite dreams hehe

按讚
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
2022年2月01日
回覆

Sarah ah you just want me to animate a old man right! Alan say Ophelia sounds like a Shakespeare thing so I don’t think I choosing that *yolo*

按讚

訪客
2022年1月31日

Great to see how the ideas turned out. I love the vinyl design set, it looks neat, you could even showcase a lists of environment CDs for the character to choose from, with name tag indicated (marine theme, 1960s theme, etc,... I also think this design can go with some music choice with the old radio effect. For the brand name I like Ophelia, really magical name. Keep it up !

- Ann

按讚
Maynie Lee
Maynie Lee
2022年2月01日
回覆

Thank you Ann! Yea now that you say it I might add a screen like ipod and you can search music or play songs on random!

按讚
bottom of page