top of page
  • Maynie Lee

week 9: character design!


It's week 9 and my character design is finally hereee!! I start the week by doing some sketches of my ideal character. Some of you might know, I've always been doing chibbi style characters for the past three semesters, but since my character is around 20 years old, I have to challenge myself with animating looong hoomanns!


SKetches


At first I wanted to use No. 2 since overalls looks more casual for a artist, but then when I think back on my storyboard, there is only one scene that you can see the full body of the character. It is when the character is jumping on the lily pads, so I decided to challenge meself again to animate moving dresses :) Yeaaa I'm stepping out of my comfort zone this sem yozzz, clap for mee!!



Okayy so I did more sketches with the dress-apron look and I realise she look more like a housewife heree. And yea I know you guys will say the paint brushes in the pocket will look more sense but your gurl here is not going to animate the brush frame by frame too! I think what went wrong is the body shape, it looks little slutty (to me). Oh and also the hair, so yeaa, I did another version right bellow heree!



Ehehehe I think now with the palette and paint brush it looks more sense! I am in loveee with the middle one! She looks clean and appealing, maybe the only problem is the hair, I will dieee animating long hair! And yeaa character is finalised!


Colours

For colours, I want to have a bunch of weird colour combination. Just like the characters in Winx Club!

Ahahaha not exactly weird colours but just super super colourful!

I really love 1,3,4,5 and 7. However, I look back at my environmental design which is mostly green and blue, I realise most of my colours here clash with my background. Sooo, I am just going with No.1!


Turnaround




Expressions


Sorry for not labelling >.<


Poses



I only did the sketches but I promise I will finish clean lines by tomorrow!!


Okayyy that's all I have this week! I am actually really proud of myself for doing all of these in a week! TBH I actually love my character! Which is something I never felt for my past few projects eheheh! Hope you guys are doing well tooo!! Don't forget to reward yourself for your hard work! You guys are doing greatttt!! Just last few weeks to chiong and we are done with LASALLEEE!!!



1 Comment


Guest
Mar 16, 2022

I'm shocked to see so much work for a single week! Claps Claps Claps to you!!! Everything looks good! I loved the poses (made me feel like watching your TVC already) I actually liked the version with overalls... but I understand you wanna challenge yourself (Just not too much, lol) Keep it Up - Ezekiel

Like
bottom of page